Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well this really should have been posted last week on Wednesday, but I seemed to have one of those weeks where every time I went to post this I got distracted by one thing or another, leading to a late update.

So I guess I should start by saying at this point with just 4 weeks left before hand in I am starting to feel the stress of finishing the project, on paper I’m not really behind in any particular area but I can still feel that stress building up.  The final development is starting out pretty well, with just a little more work I will have all the assets in place in order to begin development but it still feels behind.

Rather than saying this week, its more last week at this point, there were a few things I was pretty unhappy about.  Firstly I wasn’t in the session on the first week back after Easter and that was fine, I had pre-arranged it with the tutor and I knew what I needed to do, however when I showed up for the session there wasn’t anyone.  It turns out that the session was a ‘drop in’ as the tutor couldn’t come in for whatever reason, I don’t mind that but what I did mind was the fact I had not been informed either by the other students on my course or by the tutor, there were multiple ways I could have been informed to list a few:

Email – I send a session to my tutor most weeks, I didn’t last week because I forgot but he could have still spent the whole 1 minute it would have taken to do this.

Facebook – We have an official and unofficial (student only) facebook page, someone could have mentioned it

Mobile – The college has my number, as do most of the other students a quick text wouldn’t have hurt

Those methods would have taken 5 mins at most to do and that is just a very quick list there are plenty of other methods that could have been used.

Work wise I guess I did get a reasonable amount completed, I started the session out by finding some of my missing assets such as an npower van.  I couldn’t find exactly what I needed so I downloaded a basic van and then created a texture for it, was pretty quick and simple to do.

After this I started on a flow chart that showed how the game will work/flow, I didn’t completely finish it but got it mostly completed.  Then I started a synopsis of each level describing what it was, how it worked, what assets were needed.  Since the session was classed as a drop in session I finished at 12:00 and came home where I continued working on my levels synopsis for the rest of the day.  I got this completed for the first 10 levels, which I thought was enough for now as the demo game I will create will only have the first few levels developed.

Overall I think the project is going fairly well however it still needs alot more work before the hand in.